2016-17 National Alternative Break Awards

Learn more about the extraordinary programs, community partners, and individuals who were recognized with the 2016-17 National Awards:

Program of the Year

University of Idaho

Active Citizen of the Year

Chelsea Bray, The Ohio State University

Staff Person of the Year

Niki Messmore, IUPUI

Community Partner of the Year

Chesapeake Bay Foundation

T-Shirt of the Year

University of Maryland

Past winners have secured institutional funding and staff positions as a result of their designation as national alternative break award recipients. Winners received national recognition including a letter of congratulations, the presentation of an award at the summer ABCs, a spotlight on one of our National Conference Calls, a letter to the college or university president, and complimentary Break Away products and services.

Special Thanks to our 2017 National Awards Committee Members